Knowledgebase
Faculty of Business and IT > FBIT Lab Support System > Knowledgebase

Search help:


How do I erase my router configurations when I'm done with the router?

Solution

How to erase router configurations

This article assumes that you are already connected to the router and have access to the EXEC mode CLI (i.e. the prompt ends with a # sign, similar to Router#. If you can't get to this prompt because of an unknown password, check out this knowledgebase article.

To erase your router configurations, follow these steps:

  1. From the privileged EXEC prompt, type the command erase startup-config which will delete the startup configuration.
  2. When you receive the following message:

    Erasing the nvram filesystem will remove all configuration files! Continue? [confirm]

    Press ENTER to confirm.
  3. Now restart the router by entering the command reload.
  4. You may receive a message that says:

    System configuration has been modified. Save? [yes/no]:

    Type no and press enter to ensure you don't save anything before reloading.
  5. Finally, you will receive the following message:

    Proceed with reload? [confirm]

    Press ENTER to confirm.

When the router restarts, it should prompt you to enter the initial configuration dialog, at which point you can disconnect from the router.

Related articles How do I erase my switch configurations when I'm done with the switch?
Router Password Recovery
Switch Password Recovery
Article details
Article ID: 10
Category: Networking Lab
Date added: 2011-07-08 13:07:04
Views: 1360

 
« Go back

 
Powered by Help Desk Software HESK, brought to you by SysAid